An important announcement from the founder of property-bee.com: The future of Property Bee is assured.

by-passing the estate agent?

Anything and everything to do with property prices, from news reports and press releases to your comment and theories.

by-passing the estate agent?

Postby louandbob on Sun Feb 12, 2012 3:27 pm

I am a novice re; housing selling/buying.
Looking to move. Like a house £239000 (recently reduced from £249000), been on market for 13 months no upper chain.
Our budget is some what less £205000. m guessing this will be far to low but my i feel we have nothing to lose by putting an offer forward.
Would you always go through the estate agent or is it acceptbale to write a letter to the vendor and put it through the door? I have no idea if this is ok or totally unacceptable? Any advice greatly receieved.
Thanks
Lou
louandbob

Re: by-passing the estate agent?

Postby Beerhunter on Wed Feb 15, 2012 10:30 pm

Hi Lou,

Interesting question.

I'm no expert, so the following is just my musings on the question.... hopefully some of the EA's and more experience peeps here may chip in with their thoughts ;)

Just going through the EA... it's possible the vendor has told the EA "reject any offers below say £220,000" (I'm just choosing that figure at random) in which case your offer wouldn't get passed onto the vendor.

Write a letter to the vendor... I'm not sure there's a great advantage to you (other than knowing the vendor has seen your offer), however for the vendor it might "save" them paying the EA fee (possibly a couple of K) and do a private sale (the EA might quibble about this if you've already viewed the property via them!)

Doing both... from you point of view, you know the vendor has received your offer... from the vendors point of view they'll proabably need to pay the EA fee rather than sell privately...